new narratives · other work

Peer Reviews and Tutorial Feedback

As part of the tutorials for this week, we were asked to look at an review the work of our peers, giving our classmates advice on where their strengths were and what could be improved upon for each individual. I gave several reviews to my classmates.

Here is the feedback I received about my own work.

Maggie McDermott:

” Rose has an amazing talent of mixing quickness and attention to detail in her work. There is clear effort in the art she produces, and a clear idea in each example as well. She is constantly jotting and scribbling in sketch and notebooks, the pages of which are absolutely coated in whatever comes to mind.

Though her personal work is certainly something, one sometimes only sees it when present to watch her draw. There isn’t much personal work to show on her blog. Though the attempts to portray school work are confidently successful, it’s hard to get an idea of what she’s truly capable of if one only sees what she’s assigned to do.

Rose also demonstrates amazing skill at shading and expressiveness in her art, however sometimes it feels as though there’s something more. Should she expand her mediums and color studies a little further, she might be able to unlock that something more. (I’m hesitant to say this because she’s already absolutely amazing and if she gets better I will probably scream)

All in all, Rose is incredibly capable and just a stone’s throw away from being one of the best. All she needs is that little push into new territory to get going.

Lydia McDowell:

” Rose has amazingly well written and thoroughly researched blog posts, which you can then see being applied to her work. However, I think there needs to be more personal work and art actually done for projects, but the art done in semester one portfolio is amazing!

Rose’s art is so full of movement and character, it’s really lovely to look at. There are great proportions and its always easy to read what a drawing is. What comes through from everything that Rose does is that she is very, very witty, and very, very talented.

She needs to get more of her art done and out there! I think she should do more, and maybe try some digital art. 

Rose also needs to do more maya work, however, as that is what we predominantly use on this course and there is a definite lack of this on her blog.”

Charlotte Bryans:

Only things I’d say would be draw a little more in your sketchbook and add more of your own drawings to your blog. And do more Maya work too.

I don’t doubt that harsher advice could have been provided by people I don’t know as well, but I am very grateful to my friends for their feedback, which I found both flattering and fair. I myself am aware that I need to work on Maya a lot more but I was surprised to hear people thought I should also draw more and upload my work to this blog more often. I do want to draw more, but I suppose I’d never considered that I wasn’t properly representing my work for others to see. I will definitely keep this in mind from now on!

The feedback I got from the group tutorial with Conann on Tuesday 21st of March was more general advice about attitude and workflow. We were in alphabetically ordered groups so feedback was also given to Matthew Duddy, Holly Cardwell and Jack Ellison.

Here is some of the info from the notes I took during the talk we had:

  • Conann recommended “putting my sketchbooks away for a week” and just sitting down to focus on Maya tutorials for several days solid. I think I will try this soon.
  • However he also spoke about the importance of taking breaks and not trying to work when you aren’t able to focus properly – saying, “When you can focus, stick at something until it’s done” was his way of working.
  • “Embrace the fact that you know nothing and others are better than you”
  • “Stop putting yourself in a box, you are good at X” – “Add new tools your skill set”
  • He recommended Digital Tutors and and Gnomon Workshops for Maya etc.
  • He also mentioned Udacity and Corsair when talking about coding/programming.
  • “More isn’t necessarily better” – “neither is perfectionism”
  • “Work on something for a day or two and then move on” (time limitations)
  • “Always push for new exploration of ideas” rather than redo the same thing a lot
  • Risk taking – challenging what is expected, e.g. creating an unusual type of story
  • Made the distinction between Cultural/Aesthetic research (learning what to do) and Technical research (learning how to do it) and said both were important to learn
  • Conan described in-depth research as examining and exploring the connections between artists, movements and events relevant to the area of research (e.g. being able to talk about how two different artists you research influenced each other, et cetera)

This advice was helpful and I hope to put all of it into practise in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

